University of London

The University of London is unlike many other universities. The University of London was founded by Royal Charter on 28 November 1836 and is the third oldest university in England.

It consists of 18 self-governing Colleges and 9 specialist research Institutes. All students from all the Colleges and Institutes are also University of London students, making them part of a community of over 170,000 students and giving them access to many services in London.

Many levels of study are covered at the University of London including foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate degrees, as well as diplomas and research degrees. The Colleges also have a wide range of short courses and summer programmes.

It is not even essential to be in London to study for a University of London degree. It currently has over 50,000 students studying in 180 different countries with the University of London.